×

TYPE IN YOUR SEARCH AND PRESS ENTER

Loading...

Jeff Bezos “New Shepard” Rocket Will Launch This Tuesday

Jennifer Moreno Jennifer Moreno

Jeff Bezos Rocket Launch

Jeff Bezos will launch into space on Blue Origin’s “First Human Flight”.

Prepare for liftoff! This impressive rocket will launch at 9:00 am EDT (1300 GMT) on July 20, 2021.

Jeff Bezos will launch to space on his New Shepard rocket. This first crewed mission will fly the billionaire and three other passengers to the suborbital space and back.

When is this happening?

On Tuesday, July 20, at 9 am EDT, Blue Origin’s New Shepard rocket will launch from Site One in West Texas. The rocket is set to carry them to the suborbital space, where they’ll experience about 3 minutes of weightlessness and enjoy stunning views!

Who’s going?

New Shepard capsule will launch Jeff Bezos, his brother Mark, the 82-year-old aviator Wally Funk, and the 18-year-old Oliver Daemon.

Advertisement

How long will the flight last?

The entire rocket flight will take about 10 to 12 minutes. The passengers will achieve zero gravity at about the three-minute mark.

What about security measures?

New Shepard has flown successfully 15 times since 2015, but never with people on board. Although the launch system is relatively reliable, rocket flights are 10x more dangerous than commercial flights. An emergency escape system has been designed in order to keep the passengers safe.

Gary Lai, senior director of the New Shepard designed a capsule that will detach itself from the rocket and jettison away from the implosion (in case there’s one). This escape system has been tested 3 times: once on the launchpad, once in mid-air, and once in space.

How can I watch it?

Blue Origin’s launch will be live-streamed on its website at 6:30 am CDT /11:30 am UTC. Liftoff is currently targeted for 8:00 am CDT / 13:00 UTC. Space.com will also bring you more updates on the “First Human Flight”, so remember to check for the latest news.

Top News